Official name
Federal Republic of Germany
Western Europe
ISO 3166-1


Mannheim is a city in the southwestern part of Germany, the third-largest in the German state of Baden-Württemberg with a 2015 population of approximately 305,000 inhabitants. The city is at the centre of the larger densely populated Rhine-Neckar Metropolitan Region which has a population of 2,400,000 and is Germany's eighth-largest metropolitan region.

Leipzig is the most populous city in the federal state of Saxony, Germany. With a population of 582,277 inhabitants (1.1 million residents in the larger urban zone) it is Germany's tenth most populous city. Together with the city of Halle, forms a key metropolitan region. This region represents a major trading intersection and a centre for the service sector, the automobile industry and logistics.

Hamburg, officially the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg, is the second-largest city of Germany as well as one of the country's 16 constituent states, with a population of roughly 1.8 million people. The city lies at the core of the Hamburg Metropolitan Region, which spreads across four German federal states and is home to more than 5 million people.

The official name reflects Hamburg's history as a member of the medieval Hanseatic League, a free imperial city of the Holy Roman Empire, a city-state and one of the 16 states of Germany.

Cologne is the largest city in the German federal State of North Rhine-Westphalia and the fourth most populated city (1,060,582 inhabitants by 2015) in Germany (after Berlin, Hamburg, and Munich). It is located within the Rhine-Ruhr metropolitan region which is Germany's largest and one of Europe's major metropolitan areas with a population of 3,573,500.

The GrowSmarter “lighthouse” programme was launched in January 2015 and it will be developed until December 2019. GrowSmarter received €25 million funding from the European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme.

Model City Mannheim (MoMa) was a pioneering project in Germany, carried out from 2008 to 2013, that was created in the scope of the country’s E-Energy funding programme. It connects every household in the city to a smart energy network (a smart power grid) that maximises renewable energy use.

The city of Hamburg is making parking easier through connected parking areas and an app called “Park and Joy”. T-Systems (part of Deutsche Telekom) is cooperating in the development of this “Find-Book-Park-Pay” system provided by the municipality to inform drivers about the available parking spaces.

The Triangulum “lighthouse” programme was launched in February 2015 and it will be developed until January 2020. Triangulum received €25.4 million funding from the European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme (the overall budget of the programme is €29.5 million).