Official name
Republic of Malta
Southern Europe
ISO 3166-1


Valletta is the capital city of Malta. The historical city has a population of 6,444 (as of March 2014), while the metropolitan area around it has a population of 393,938.

Valletta to an extent is a City-State with pressures of high density and a commuting population. Valletta encapsulates a diverse ensemble of heritage assets both tangible and intangible which reflect its intense European history.  In the post-war period it saw the migration of inhabitants and policies have been devised to curb the high vacancy rates and attract new residents. 

The GrowSmarter “lighthouse” programme was launched in January 2015 and it will be developed until December 2019. GrowSmarter received €25 million funding from the European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme.