Official name
Kingdom of the Netherlands
Western Europe
ISO 3166-1


Tilburg is a city in the Netherlands, in the southern province of North Brabant. With a population of 214,157 (April 30, 2017)

Tilburg University is located in Tilburg, as are Avans University of Applied Sciences and Fontys University of Applied Sciences.

The economy was concentrated on wool industry for centuries, however, since the 1960s, Tilburg has made more progress in having different kinds of industries. The town’s main industries are now food processing, printing, and the manufacture of paper, chemicals, and metals.

Rotterdam is a city in the Netherlands, in South Holland within the Rhine–Meuse–Scheldt river delta at the North Sea, and has a population of 633,471 (2017). It is the second-largest city in the Netherlands, just behind Amsterdam. The metropolitan region has 2,261,844 inhabitants (2014).

Eindhoven is a municipality and a city in the south of the Netherlands, and had a population of 223,220 in January 2015, making it the largest in the province of North Brabant. The metropolitan area consists of 419,045 inhabitants. The city region has a population of 753,426. Also, Eindhoven is located in the Brabantse Stedenrij, a combined metropolitan area with about 2 million inhabitants.

Ameland is a municipality and one of the West Frisian Islands off the north coast of the Netherlands. It consists mostly of sand dunes. The municipality of Ameland had a population of 3,683 in 2017.

The island has four villages, and one small part-village.

Most travelers reach the island by ferry from Holwerd in the mainland of Friesland, but there is also an Airport near Ballum (Ameland Airport).


The island of Ameland has a series of ambitious sustainability goals for 2020. As part of the Sustainable Ameland Agreement, the municipality, Philips Lighting, GasTerra, and NAM are committed to working together and trialling innovations in the field of sustainable energy on the island.

The Rotterdam Climate Change Adaptation Strategy is being developed in the scope of the Rotterdam Climate Initiative, which aims at reducing carbon emissions by 50% and making the city 100% climate proof by 2025.

The Smog Free Tower is the largest smog vacuum cleaner (7 metres tall) in the world, created by Dutch artist and innovator Daan Roosegaarde.

In October 2017, two solar-powered smart street lights in Tilburg were officially revealed by the city councillor Mario Jacobs. FlexSol Solutions was responsible for the development of the Soluxio system, composed by the first autonomous off-grid solar lamp posts in the city (there is no electricity grid available in Besterd Square).

The Triangulum “lighthouse” programme was launched in February 2015 and it will be developed until January 2020. Triangulum received €25.4 million funding from the European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme (the overall budget of the programme is €29.5 million).

The Hague is a city on the western coast of the Netherlands and the capital of the province of South Holland. With a metropolitan population of more than 1 million, it is the third-largest city in the Netherlands, after Amsterdam and Rotterdam. The Rotterdam-The Hague Metropolitan Area has a population of approximately 2.7 million.