Official name
Kingdom of Norway
Northern Europe
ISO 3166-1


Stavanger is a city and municipality in Norway. It is the third largest city (population 132,729 in 2017) and metropolitan area[3] in Norway (through conurbation with neighbouring Sandnes) and the administrative centre of Rogaland County.

Stavanger is a University City and home to a number of institutions of higher education and research.

The Triangulum “lighthouse” programme was launched in February 2015 and it will be developed until January 2020. Triangulum received €25.4 million funding from the European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme (the overall budget of the programme is €29.5 million).