South Africa

Official name
Republic of South Africa
Southern Africa
ISO 3166-1


Stellenbosch is a town in the Western Cape province of South Africa, situated about 50 kilometres (31 miles) east of Cape Town, along the banks of the Eerste River at the foot of the Stellenbosch Mountain. It has a population of 155,733.

Stellenbosch has its own municipality (incorporating the neighbouring towns of Pniel and Franschhoek), adjoining the metropolitan area of the City of Cape Town.

Stellenbosch is known for it's restored Cape Dutch architecture dating from the 18th and 19th centuries and for its streets lined with majestic oaks.

Bloemfontein is the capital city of the province of Free State of South Africa; and, as the judicial capital of the nation, one of South Africa's three national capitals (the other two being Cape Town, the legislative capital, and Pretoria, the administrative capital) and is the seventh largest city in South Africa. Situated at an altitude of 1,395 m (4,577 ft) above sea level, the city is home to approximately 520,000 residents and forms part of the Mangaung Metropolitan Municipality, which has a population of 747,431.

The city of Bloemfontein, in South Africa, is improving its streetlight infrastructure by installing smart LED lights. Started in 2016, this 3-year project will upgrade 18,000 lamp posts from Echelon Corporation, which will then be installed by MAT Co., Ltd.

Stellenbosch Innovation District is a knowledge economy hub that supports the development of innovative solutions to face urban, social, economic, and environmental challenges. The aim of the project is to transform the city of Stellenbosch into a smart and sustainable urban settlement by 2020 and develop a culture of collaboration in the community.